What are the common pitfalls experienced when Validating Computer systems?

Hi,

In my company we are Installing the TrackWise system to manage initially our Incident Report System on site.This is an electronic Quality Management system on a web based server.

As this is my first experience in being involved in Computer systems Validation Project I think it as a relevant starting point for research which I am undertaking for completion of a Masters which I am studying part time.

I am just beginning my research at this stage and hope to formulate a questionaire for distribution to industry colleagues shortly to decipher what the common pitfalls and challenges of computer systems validation are. I may generalise this to the validation of TrackWise system i.e what are the common pitfalls when validating a TrackWise system, however I am not entirely sure what scope and direction this will take yet and may generalise the questionaire and research broadly to all aspects of Computer Systems Validation.

I would appreciate if anyone could provide feedback and/or ideas on your own experiences of Computer System Validation?

Thank you.

Take a look at this thread, for starters:

http://www.askaboutvalidation.com/forum/showthread.php?t=938

See how far that takes you.

DiauqS,

Some believe that Off The Shelf software application support a lighter validation strategy and effort, but this is often not the case. Without using names, in two OTS application validation efforts I’ve been a part of, our efforts uncovered significant bugs with the programming. One vendor ended up giving us another license because by the end of the validation effort, they ended up rolling to the next version.

Additionally, the software validation packages that sometimes come with an application (usually at extra cost) are generally inadequate, in my experience. Organizations should expect to have to develop additional test cases to ensure a robust validation effort.

Good luck with your research!