Validation of Standalone systems

Hi,

I am new to computer system validation. Can anyone please help me with the Validation on Standalone systems? I mean how we perform validation on UV/VIs spectrometer?

Hi Arpita,

Normally validation applies to the processes and softwares but analytical instruments are qualified rather. It is called as AIQ in short.Analytical Instrument Qualification (AIQ) is documented evidence that an instrument performs suitably for its intended purpose and that it is properly maintained and calibrated. Use of a qualified instrument in analyses contributes to confidence in the veracity of generated data.

Software used for analytical work can be classified into following categories:

firmware
instrument control, data acquisition, and processing software
stand-alone software
Qualifying the instrument functions inturn qualifies the operations of a firmware because instruments cannot function without a properly operated firmware. You have mentioned standalone software in your question. Is that a standard LIMS to which your UV/VIs are interfaced? Please clarify for more precise answers.

Regards
shaamu

Hi Arpita

[justify]Your first task is to collate a list of all the equipment/software/items you are responsible for along with a list all your management’s requirements (GMPs/procurement/vendor audit/safety cases/SOPs/training/cleaning) into a concise and detailed plan of action - a Validation Plan (VP). In this plan you layout what you are going to do – what – when and with whom. Here you will document your companies approach to embedded and stand- alone software. What-ever you decide to do; must be documented here, this way all the agree actions/timelines/responsibilities you have decided upon are reviewed, agreed, adopted and approved by your company.