SAAS vs On Premise Validation requirements

Hi,

my company are moving from a paper based QMS to electronic, a potential vendor has been identified and we have had initial discussions about their system.

from what i can see (and i’m not an expert in CSV), the in-house validation effort required for on premise is much greater than that required for the SAAS model.

The host server would be at the vendors site and i am informed that it does not use “Cloud” computing to store data.

If we go with the SAAS what is Validation impact,

-i presume as a minimum we should be running a PQ.
-does anyone have any regulatory experience with respect to “defending” the SAAS option?,
-what are the risks/benefits fo going down the SAAS route?,

i really would appreciate hearing about peoples experience with SAAS

Thanks in advance

Hi Murt2006,

First of all did you right a URS for this system? How did you come to the point where you choose this vendor to host your QMS?

When you say it does not use Cloud Computing not sure what you mean by this. There are many different flavors of Cloud and when it comes to using a system in a regulated environment you need to be very clear what your requirements are.

Another very important point is have you audited the vendor for their QMS and SDLC plus their hosting environment, is this regulated hosting?

If you would like more info my contact details are below, there are many different aspects that need to be considered here.

Best Regards

[quote=gokeeffe]Hi Murt2006,

First of all did you right a URS for this system? How did you come to the point where you choose this vendor to host your QMS?

When you say it does not use Cloud Computing not sure what you mean by this. There are many different flavors of Cloud and when it comes to using a system in a regulated environment you need to be very clear what your requirements are.