New to validation

Hi All,

I am new to validation and am currently training to be a Validation Engineer having 12 years IT industry experience.

I am in the process of writing a paper on "Why validation is a requirement for the manufacture of medicinal products?" and am looking for some pointers.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Trevor

Hi Trevor

Here’s a good start

The FDA’s analysis of 3140 medical device recalls conducted between 1992 and 1998 reveals that
242 of them (7.7%) are attributable to software failures. Of those software related recalls, 192 (or
79%) were caused by software defects that were introduced when changes were made to the software
after its initial production and distribution. Software validation and other related good software
engineering practices discussed in this guidance are a principal means of avoiding such defects and
resultant recalls.

Software validation is a requirement of the Quality System regulation, which was published in the
Federal Register on October 7, 1996 and took effect on June 1, 1997. (See Title 21 Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) Part 820, and 61 Federal Register (FR) 52602, respectively.) Validation
requirements apply to software used as components in medical devices, to software that is itself a
medical device, and to software used in production of the device or in implementation of the device
manufacturer’s quality system.

Unless specifically exempted in a classification regulation, any medical device software product
developed after June 1, 1997, regardless of its device class, is subject to applicable design control
provisions. (See of 21 CFR §820.30.) This requirement includes the completion of current
development projects, all new development projects, and all changes made to existing medical device
software. Specific requirements for validation of device software are found in
21 CFR §820.30(g). Other design controls, such as planning, input, verification, and reviews, are