Knapp Test for Vial Testing

Dear all,

I’ve heard about ‘Knapp Test’ for vial checking. Can anybody lead me to some of the references?

Thanks.

hi,
Knapp test is to ensure that the manual inspection is similar to the automated process of inspection. It is very lengthy process but this is generally asked document if you qualify an automated machine for inspection by an auditor. I had some article on this will forward to you within 2 days as i have to search for the same.
tx,
kalyan.

hi,
Knapp test is as follows

Firstly the USP states that “all parenterals will be 100% visually inspected.”

Secondly, below are my oponions only (experience) and if I fail to identify anything that a regulator may be looking for, or if someone with more experince can add to anything or correct anything I will truely value the feedback as I am relatively new to the qualification and parenteral inspection subject.

When developing a method in which to qualify operators it is important to develop a process for qualifying that you can easily defend.

The following discussion is something we can call the ‘pseudo Knapp method’

The PDA presents papers on Julius Knapp’s methodology to use when validating a semi-automated inspection method (eg. siedenaders) or fully automated inspection machines (eg. EISAI) so these can be used for reference.

1. The best thing to do is collect particulate rjects from various batches (keeping the characteristics of the product the same - eg. viscosity, clear or yellowish, fill volume, etc…) (However particulate seeded sets can be manufactured a company called MML can help with this)

2. After collecting X numbers of particulates rejects from various batches, these vials should be blindly placed into Y number of uninspected vials from various batches.