Compressed Air for Pharma Plant

Dear All,

Since do no have special guideline on compressed air quality in pharmaceutical plant, is it mean we need to follow ISO guide line?

If follow ISO guide, whice grade that should be followed for sterile plant, solid plant and liquid plant?

Thank you
Teo

Hi Teo

Although I am not an expert on compressed air quality in a Pharma plant,
I think you will find the below articles very useful.

Hopefully other member of this community can offer a further insight

http://www1.eere.energy.gov/industry/bestpractices/pdfs/compressed_air5.pdf

Regards

Teo,

What are you doing with the compressed air? I think the requirements for the air should be based on this. If you are only powering valves and pumps, then the specs for this should apply. Secondarily, the exhaust for these types of equipment should be evaluated, based on the room criteria. If you are using compressed air in a sterile or clean environment, typically Point of Use filters are employed. I think there is a USP monograph on compressed air. I’ll have to dig around for it. Plus I have some old protocols for the validation of a CA system.

Dear Meyert,

the air is used for cleanroom and certain point may direct contact with product;

As far as I got the info, the quality should be controlled as below:

1.   Particle: Match your room grade; If you room is Grade B, the air from the compressor also meet Grade B;

2.   Oil free compressor, and direct contact with product POU, oil free needed

3.   Dew point should be -40, but some used -20C

4.   Microbial: If the air direct contact with product, 0.2micron terminal filter need to be installed. (I have sent the catalog to Mr Ter before.)

I have no objection on item 1, 2 and 4; But no so agreed with items 3;

thank you and regards,
teo

The system is consistently producing the desired air quality as per ISO 8573-Class 4 as a minimum standard.

Extract from ISO 8573: 2001 Part 1 for particulate

see limit attached with