Visual inspectors qualification

How we can qualify visual inspectors in injectables?

Firstly the USP states that “all parenterals will be 100% visually inspected.”

Secondly, below are my oponions only (experience) and if I fail to identify anything that a regulator may be looking for, or if someone with more experince can add to anything or correct anything I will truely value the feedback as I am relatively new to the qualification and parenteral inspection subject.

When developing a method in which to qualify operators it is important to develop a process for qualifying that you can easily defend.

The following discussion is something we can call the ‘pseudo Knapp method’

The PDA presents papers on Julius Knapp’s methodology to use when validating a semi-automated inspection method (eg. siedenaders) or fully automated inspection machines (eg. EISAI) so these can be used for reference.

1. The best thing to do is collect particulate rjects from various batches (keeping the characteristics of the product the same - eg. viscosity, clear or yellowish, fill volume, etc…) (However particulate seeded sets can be manufactured a company called MML can help with this)

2. After collecting X numbers of particulates rejects from various batches, these vials should be blindly placed into Y number of uninspected vials from various batches.

3. Now with X + Y, have inspectors (lets say three different inspectors) manually inspect these vials 10 times each (3 inspectors times 10 times each vial is 30 inspections each vial) . Using Knapp’s probablistic methodlgy, anything with a probablity of 0.7 is classified as a reject. Thus from the X + Y, any vials that were rejected 21 out of 30 times would be considered a reject. Using these vials classified as rejects and using vials that are classified as good vials (anything witha probablity of 0.3 and less) a standard qualification set can be created.