Validation of an ERP System

My company is in the process of building a Microsoft NAV based ERP system. As my background is mostly equipment and utility validation, I am by no means a CSV sme. Does anyone have guidance on how to approach this? I’m familiar with part 11 compliance but I’m not sure how to structure the validation approach for this system or even if it is capable of being configured as part 11 compliant…any advice would be great!

Hi hokiefan6688,

Do you have a URS developed for this system?

Thanks

Not currently…I’ve read that a risk assessment should sometimes come before the URS…I guess I’m kind of lost. Do you think it’s wise to follow the GAMP V-Shape model? We are a class 2 medical device manufacturer so I wasn’t sure what was necessary…

Yes you could do a high level risk assessment initially and find out the criticalty of the system and how it affects patient safety, product quality and what are the underlying business risks.

The cornerstones to starting this project should be:

A: A Validation Plan
B: Risk Assessment
C: URS

Usually the outcome of the risk assessment will dictate what documents you need to generate and that will be stated in the validation plan.

Can you reference any other CSV projects that you have already done on site?

Has your CSV team created a roadmap for CSV projects previously?

I’m just trying to get a handle on what kind of support you have,

Regards

Thanks Graham i appreciate it.

We are a ~20 person start-up company (11 when I started). Due to tight budgets and limited resources, myself and my director have implemented a mostly paper based quality system for now. The components of our device are contracted out and validated by other companies. We do the final assembly at our site, but do not currently have a robust CSV program. The ERP system is going to replace accounting, purchasing, supply chain, and production.