To do tests beyond approved number during OQ

Hello Everybody,

I am a functional consultant who is currently a member of the OQ testing team of my client. I am new to this forum (and to the field of validation per se). I have 2 questions
  1. If there are 10 tests to be done for the function/module “material management” as per the test protocol and if the test protocol has not said specifically that beyond those 10 tests no other test should be done, then is it permitted to do some new tests or repeat a test with new data set ? It is not required to document those new tests or repeat tests, but they only need to be executed simply to see whether some undocumented URS can be met with.

2. Is it permitted for a tester in module “material management” to execute a test for the module “production” if the “material management tester” is capable of executing that test with the same level of accuracy as the "production tester " ?

Thanks in advance.

Regards

Subhajit.

Your note was a bit unsettling on several fronts.

First, keep in mind that the objective of validation is to ensure the equipment performs to your specifications AND needs. If there’s a chance that additional testing will reveal a potential flaw, why wouldn’t you do it? Protocols are (at best) a snapshot of what is considered sufficient and reasonable. We often budget in “exploratory” or “ad hoc” testing just to provide some freedom for evaluation beyond that which is documented (protocols). These results may or may not go into the validation report (often they do).

Second, you mention “undocumented URS.” Depending on the severity, that could be quite an issue. I realize you can’t document everything so maybe you’re talking just about some general assumptions. Again, if the tester believes there’s a potential flaw that could be revealed through such testing, it should be encouraged.