Selecting the worst case

Hi to everyone,

I’m a Pharmacist working in an QA department. I can’t tell you how happy I am, because I’ve found this site. But I’ll have a question. I would be very glad, if someone could help me.

We produce over 40 medicines and 2 of them are veterinary drugs. Those veterinary drugs are "oblet"s, so they weigh about 13.000mg’s. When selecting the worst case, we chose the most insoluble and toxic product, which has alos the lowest LTD value within our products. So far no problems.

But when we use the MC= LTD/1000/D x Wb/Wt x Ss/Se x R formulation, we should choose the biggest Wt value, which is the biggest, heaviest tablet. Our biggest tablet weigh 1841 mg’s. But our veterinary product weighs 13.000mg’s. If we use the veterinary in our formulation the Mc limit comes 5 times lower. But I think, no human will use those veterinary products. So could we use the most biggest tablet weight for human in our formulation, our should we use our veterinary products weight?

I hope I didn’t bother you too much.

Thank you.

r u manufacturing veternary products in same facillity in which u r making human products…

Prasad

Yes we are. I don’t think that it’s a problem.

You should definitetly validate your cleaning procedure to avoid cross contamination. I think you should use your veterinary product as the worst case, due to the potencial harm it could make if your next product is a human product, that´s enough to justify that.