Post Cleaning Validation

I had the following concerns once we validate our cleaning processes

1. What actives and residues do we test for on a regular basis
  2. Are all the actives and residues tested as they were when validation exercise was conducted
  3. How do we develop a rationale for testing
  4. Are there regulations for the number of tests to be carried out to ensure that cleaning has truly taken place
  5. If the same product is manufactured in different lots from the same campaign, do we still test for the actives and residues

Appreciate replies, discussion and comments

Subramanya

Hi sburra

While I am no expert in the field of Cleaning Validation I would suggest the following:

1. Using Solubility and toxicity levels determine the worst case product(s)… there may be more than one, then test for those actives on a regular basis.
  2. Yes, any variability may be sufficient to render your testing invalid.
  3. using the API(s) selected in 1 above.
  4. Generally validation trials run 3 in numbers.
  5. In this situation you would not have to test for actives and resides provided you go from lowest to highest strength during the campaign (1mg, part clean, 2mg, part clean, 5mg, part clean, etc.). Keep in mind that you would have to certainly test for API residues when different molecules are processed back to back.

I hope this helps at least a bit.

Releated to regulatory requirment,initial three runs r sufficant and for regularly basis u have to do re-qualification for once in a year and it should refelect in u r cleaning validation master plan (CVMP).

prasad…

[quote=gokeeffe]Hi sburra

While I am no expert in the field of Cleaning Validation I would suggest the following:

1. Using Solubility and toxicity levels determine the worst case product(s)… there may be more than one, then test for those actives on a regular basis.
  2. Yes, any variability may be sufficient to render your testing invalid.
  3. using the API(s) selected in 1 above.